All visitors entering Laos must possess valid passports valid for at least six months from the date of entry. On entering Laos visitors must ensure they receive an entry stamp in their passport, as fines for not having one are expensive.

There are several ways to apply for VISA. The regulation depends on the nationality. There are no-visa entry opportunity for several countries for 15 days.

The border checkpoints falling under this category are:

International Airports
– Wattay International Airport in Vientiane Capital.
– Luang Prabang International Airport in Luang Prabang Province.
– Pakse Internatioanl Airport in Champasack Province.
– Savannakhet International Airport in Savannakhet Province.
– Attapue International Airport in Attapue Province.

China-Laos Border
Mohan – Botene , Yunnan to Luang Namtha Province.

Thailand-Laos Border
Lao-Thai Friendship Bridge IV, Chiangkhong – Houixay, Chiang Rai to Bokeo Province.
Nakaxeng – Kaenthao, Loei to Sayabouly Province.
Houai Kon – Nam Ngeun, Nan to Sayabouly Province
Lao-Thai Friendship Bridge I, Nongkhay-Vientiane Capital.
Lao-Thai Friendship Bridge II, Moukdahan-Savannakhet Province.
Lao-Thai Friendship Bridge III, Nakorn Phanom-Khammouane Province.
Chongmek – Vangtao, Ubol Ratchathani to Champasack Province.

Vietnam-Laos Border
Nameo – Banleui, Thanh Hoa to Huaphanh Province.
Namkan – Namkan, Nge An to Xieng Khouang Province.
Keoneua – Nampao (Lak Sao), Ha tinh to Bolikhamxay Province.
Laobao – Dansavanh, Quang tri to Savannakhet Province.

Cambodia-Laos Border
Dong Calor – Veun Kham, Cambodia to Champasack Province.

Travellers holding passports from the following countries, however, are not at this time eligible for Laos Visas-on-Arrival : Afghanistan, Algeria, Bangladesh, Burundi, Cameroon, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Jordan, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya), Mozambique, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Syria (Syrian Arab Republic), Swaziland, Tonga, Turkey, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

According to notice No. 1232 issued on 1 October 2009, by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Lao PDR, nationals on the list above must obtain their visas at Lao Embassies or Lao Consulates abroad before entering Laos. However, there is an exception for those nationals who are an official visits and holding a guarantee from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Lao PDR.

More information at Tourism Luang Prabang.